New Kansas law will require roofers to register
Published on -6/28/2013, 7:42 AM
TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) -- A new Kansas law taking effect Monday will require roofing contractors to register annually with the attorney general's office before they can be paid for their work.
The new law was enacted this year by legislators and is designed to protect consumers. It had the support of Attorney General Derek Schmidt, AARP and the roofing industry itself.
The law says that roofing contractors must obtain an annual certificate from the attorney general's office to solicit business or collect fees for residential or commercial jobs.
Roofers must be at least 18 years old, and they or their companies must show that they carry $500,000 in liability insurance.
The attorney general's office expects to charge a $250 annual registration fee.