Purchase photos

DSNWK doles out annual honors at luncheon


Developmental Services of Northwest Kansas hosted its annual awards luncheon Sept. 24. Awards were given to staff, persons served and community members.  

Employees recognized for years of service were:

Atwood: Earla Connell, Jane Griffith, Lynette Kanek, Zelda Merz.

Hays: Kellie Begler, Roseanne Benabdallah, Matthew Binder, Starla Conner, Michael Cox, Norma Dorzweiler, Nancy Duffy, Trevor Engel, LaVonne Giess, Robert Hageman, Alaina Hughes, Kyle Kreutzer,  Ruth Lang, Jacqueline Lattin, Richard Lovin, Dawn Marlett, Gracemary Melvin, Edith Murguia, Mark Nebel, Jan Nosekabel, Dustin Olsen, Monica Roe, Rebecca Rupp, Jason Schmidt, Cheryl Snyder, Jim Strobel, Ronnie Welch, Anne Werth, David Whalen.

Hill City: Marla Baker, Carolyn Bell, Katherine Bell, Marva Boyd, Gertrude Deges, Sherri Jackson, Barbara Kinderknecht, Nannette Kohart, Gina Nichol.

Norton: Larry Fletchall, Rene Readle, Laquita Smith.

Oakley: Pamela Sager.

Russell: Mellissa Holloway.

Three staff members, Monica Roe, Hays, and Charles Bowker and Marsha Niehoff, Russell, were given special recognition for making successful efforts in providing emergency assistance to persons served by DSNWK.  

Five staff members were recognized for their outstanding work -  Stormy Boisvert and LeeAnn Schmidtberger, Hays; Raenette Martinof, Oberlin; Tammy Morton, Hoxie, and Virginia Carver, Atwood -- were presented employee of the year awards.

Edith Murguia and Shaunna Ruder, Hays, each received a $100 scholarship from the Jerelyn Becker Memorial Scholarship Fund for employees studying in higher education in a field related to serving people with developmental disabilities.

Awards were given to individuals served by DSNWK for achievement through employment and independence.

Honorees included:

Atwood: Barbara Bieker and Betty Bieker.

Hays: Duane Basgall, Guy French, Gary Harbers, Raylynn Lumpkin, James Lynn, Melisa Mong, Ross Mowry, Jeff Saindon, Robert Skeers, Scott Wiglesworth.

Hill City: Ray Dean Dancer and Rosemary Dancer.

Oakley: Chad Ostmeyer and Jessica Soderlund.

Goodland: Shelby Estes.

Two individual achievement awards went to Bailey Thompson, Norton and Tim Speier, Hill City. The awards are for one youth and one adult who have shown tremendous individual progress throughout the year.

Other awards went to Fort Hays State University, DSNWK's employer of the year award; DSNWK's good neighbor awards to Mark Richardson an individual served by DSNWK in Hoxie for community volunteerism and Harriet Richardson of Hoxie who has shown support to the individuals served by the DSNWK program in Hoxie.