Purchase photos

Area Head Start staff members, programs win state awards


By The Hays Daily News

By The Hays Daily News

There were several local winners in the 2015 National Head Start Association Scholarship and Awards program.

The awards recognize achievements and services for the 2013-14 school year.

Early Childhood Connections winners are Jerica Priest, beating the odds parent award; Brenda Evans, support staff of the year; Justin Hertel, Head Start alumni-high school award; and Rachel Harman, Head Start-staff higher education award.

The Albert and Leona Morgan Charitable Foundation, Phillipsburg, received the Sargent Shriver Excellence in Community Service Award.

Winners continue to the Region VII Head Start Association, where they compete with state winners from Iowa, Nebraska and Missouri.

The Kansas Awards will be presented at the Kansas Head Start Association affiliate program members meeting in January in Salina.