Purchase photos

HDN staff wins awards at state contest


By The Hays Daily News

The Hays Daily News received 34 awards in several categories at Saturday’s Kansas Press Association annual convention in Manhattan.

The awards honor some of the state’s best talent in journalism and advertising.

“It is always gratifying to see the talented staff here earn recognition from their peers,” said HDN Editor and Publisher Patrick Lowry. 

“Our readers and customers already are aware what great work takes place daily in both the editorial and advertising departments. When out-of-state judges confirm that, it’s a great reminder of the important role this newspaper plays in the community.”

Hays Daily employees earned five first-place honors in Daily Division II.

Reporter Randy Gonzales won first in the youth story division, and Diane Gasper-O’Brien won first in the education category. Gasper-O’Brien and photographer Chad Pilster took first in the best story/picture combination category.

Editorial pages by the HDN also earned a first-place honor, and coverage of area drivers at the 2013 IMCA Super Nationals in Boone, Iowa, earned Managing Editor Nick Schwien first in the series category.

Other winners included:


Investigative story — Mike Corn, second and third.

Series — Corn, third.

Government/political story — Corn, third.

Agriculture story — Corn, third.

Youth story — Gasper-O’Brien, second.

Sports story — Austin Colbert, third.

Headline writing — Schwien, second.

News photo — Jolie Green, third.

Sports photo — Pilster, third.

Photo package — Schwien, second.

Best use of photos — Corn, second; Schwien, third.

Sports pages — Nick McQueen, second.

Design and layout — HDN staff, second.

Best front page — HDN staff, second.

Best website — HDN staff, second.

Best environmental story — Corn, second and third.

Best story/picture combination — Schwien, second; Gasper-O’Brien and Green, third.


Best grocery ad — Sandra Harder, second.

Best professional service ad — Joleen Fisher, second.

Best hardware ad — Tiffany Reddig, second; Fisher, third.

Best fashion ad — Harder, third.

Best specialty ad — Juno Ogle, second.

Best agricultural ad — Ogle, third.

Special section — HDN staff, third.