Purchase photos

Kansas license plate facts

6/27/2013

* March 12, 1913, was the day the Legislature completed debate and enacted legislation providing for vehicle registration, registration fees and numbered plates to be attached to the rear of each vehicle owned by a person, firm or corporation. The law set July 1, 1913, as the date registrations and plates were officially required.

* The registration fees were $5 for passenger cars and trucks and $2 for motorcycles, with $4.25 and $1.50 to be returned to each county road fund and $.75 and $.50 to be paid to the state general fund.

* Motor vehicles required to be registered included, "all vehicles propelled by any power other than muscular power, excepting, however, traction engines, road rollers and any vehicle which runs only on rails or tracks." Departments of municipal police and fire were also excepted.

* 1913 Kansas license plate No. 1 went to W.W. Web, Topeka; No. 2 went to J.R. Burrow, Topeka; No. 13 went to Dr. J.C. McClintoc, Topeka, but the doctor had to return it because his family refused to ride in a horseless carriage with an unlucky number. No. 13 was then mailed to Roscoe Mitchell, Kendall.

* Other states celebrating 100 years of license plates are Colorado, Idaho, Indiana, North Carolina, South Dakota and Wyoming.