Purchase photos

Racing under the sun, beats record




The Hays High School electrocar team recorded its best finish in school history this semester, finishing in the top two of all three categories of the Kansas Electrocar Championship Racing Series.

The HHS team, under the direction of instructor Chris Dinkel, claimed the state championship in report writing and the solar car class, as well as runner-up honors in the standard car class.

Hays High has recorded several first- and second-place finishes during the years, but this marks the three best performances in one year.

HHS had the two first-place finishes sewn up heading into Thursday's season finale at Beloit, already have finished first in report writing and having won the first two solar car races of the spring season.

But it needed a strong performance in the standard class to move up to second place. HHS got that effort from junior Lukas Dickinson, who recorded the same amount of laps as the winning car from Beloit but was edged out of first place by 18 seconds by Beloit.

However, the team Hays High was chasing for second place was Clearwater, which finished behind Dickinson, giving HHS the state runner-up trophy.

Members of the state championship written report team from Dinkel's research and design class were: seniors Kord Albers, Kaden Beilman, Caleb Hecker, Brett Hertel, Justin Hertel, Kirk Pfannenstiel, Ben Prindle and Dakota Zimmerman, along with Dickinson and junior Colton Scoby.

The electrocar race teams for HHS, a project of the Hays High Industrial Technology Association, this spring were:

Seniors -- Albers, Brett Hertel, Pfannenstiel, Prindle and John Staab.

Juniors -- Dickinson and Dylan Schmidt.

Sophomores -- Bradyn Meredith, Peyton Ruder and Christian Wright.

Freshmen -- Buffington, Austin Dale, Nick Dreiling, Thomas Harmon and Alex Tinkel.