Purchase photos

FHSU announces faculty award winners


Another highlight Fort Hays State University's annual fall convocation was the introduction of faculty award winners.

Rick Packauskas, associate professor of biological sciences, was named this year's President's Distinguished Scholar. Packauskas, who receives a medallion and a $1,500 cash award, was selected by Hammond from recommendations forwarded to him by an evaluation committee of previous presidential scholars. The committee is chaired by FHSU Provost Larry Gould.

The other faculty award winners announced at the convocation were Rob Channell, professor of biological sciences, as Faculty Member of the Year for 2012, and Robert Moody, assistant professor of advanced education programs, as the Shearer Advisor of the Year. Award money for the Faculty Member of the Year, research, service and teaching awards is provided by Tom Thomas, president of Commerce Bank, and the membership of the Provost's Council.

The Faculty Member of the Year was chosen from among the previous academic year's winners of Research, Service and Outstanding Teaching Awards. Those winners were Mark Eberle, program specialist in the Department of Biological Sciences, and Eric Leuschner, assistant professor of English, in research; Duane Shepherd, associate professor of health and human performance, and Janet Stramel, assistant professor of teacher education, in service; and Christa Weigel, assistant professor of allied health, and Channell in teaching. Each of those awards carries a $500 cash benefit. Channell, as Faculty Member of the Year, also receives a $1,000 award.