Purchase photos

Local students advance to KU journalism competition





Students from three Ellis County high schools will compete at Saturday's Kansas Scholastic Press Association state competition at the University of Kansas in Lawrence after finishing in the top six of various categories at regional competitions earlier this semester.

Hays High, Thomas More Prep-Marian High and Ellis all will compete in three different divisions (5-6A, 3-4A and 1-2A, respectively).

Hays High had numerous multi-event qualifiers, led by sophomores Morgan Klaus and Brianna Mathias, who qualified in three events each. Regional champs were seniors Nicole Feyerherm, Rachel Moravek, Paige Coffman and Sana Cheema.

Thomas More Prep-Marian in Hays was led at regionals by a trio of juniors. Lexie Wasinger and Grace Volker each recorded a first-place finish, while Owen Toepfer placed in the top six of two categories.

Ellis, which also had several students qualify, had two regional champs in senior Christen Spinelli and junior Dani Hausler.

The following are state qualifiers and their regional finishes for Hays High, TMP-M and Ellis.

Hays High

Sana Cheema, sr., first, editing, and HM, yearbook layout; Paige Coffman, sr., first, academics photography; Taylor Deboer, soph., second, sports photography; Thea Ferland, jr., HM, headline writing; Nicole Feyerherm, sr., first, feature writing, and third, editing; Morgan Klaus, soph., second, yearbook sportswriting, and HM, sports photography and newspaper sports writing; Jasmine Lawson, jr., HM, yearbook layout, and HM, infographics; Mackenzie Lewis, third, yearbook copy writing; Meredith Martin, soph., third, advertising, and HM, photo illustration; Brianna Mathias, soph., second, yearbook copy writing, and HM, newspaper sportswriting and feature writing; Rachel Moravek, sr., first, editorial cartoon, and second, news writing; Shelby Richmeier, sr., HM, student life photography; Jessica Stoecklein, sr., second, cutline writing; Olivia Wiesner, sr., third, student life photography; Aislinn Walters, sr., HM, headline writing; Sylina Zhang, soph., second, editorial writing.


Carmen Brull, fresh., HM, editorial cartoon; Adam Flax, jr., third, news page design; Taylor Gabel, soph., second, feature writing; Alyssa Keil, jr., headline writing; Madyson Koerner, fresh., second, editorial cartoon; Matt Mindrup, jr., HM, editorial writing; Bailey Rome, jr., HM, headline writing; Owen Toepfer, jr., third, cutline writing, and HM, editorial writing; Grace Volker, jr., first, photo illustration; Lexie Wasinger, jr., first, news sportswriting.


Dusty Bittel, sr., HM, editorial cartoon, and HM, news writing; Ashley Butler, jr., first, copy editing; Brittany Dinkel, sr., HM, sports photography; Hailey Dinkel, jr., HM, yearbook design; Dani Hausler, jr., first, yearbook copy writing; Regan Krause, sr., HM, academic photography; Sarah Mick, jr., second, yearbook sports writing, and HM, yearbook copy writing; Christen Spinelli, sr., first, feature writing, and third, news writing; Baylee Werth, jr., second, student life photography, and HM, cutline writing.

Students to state forensics

Seven local students will represent Hays schools at state forensics meets Saturday.

Five from TMP will be in competition at the Class 3A State Speech and Drama Championships at Wichita, while two from Hays High School will compete at the Class 5A State Championships in Emporia.

Senior Becca Channell and sophomore John Drees each qualified for state in two different events for TMP. They will team up for improvised duet acting, and both also will compete individually in poetry.

Another IDA team for TMP will be senior Haileigh Jacobs and junior Cody Kreutzer, while junior Bethany Staab will participate in impromptu speaking.

At Emporia, Hays High seniors Rachel Muirhead and Alex Green will compete in two individual events each, Muirhead in dramatic solo and prose and Green in foreign extemporaneous speaking and impromptu speaking.

To reach the season finale, students must place in the top two at a qualifying tournament throughout the season.