Purchase photos

Waddell will take USD 489 seat in July


By The Hays Daily News

By The Hays Daily News

Josh Waddell will take his seat on the Hays USD 489 Board of Education, despite an objection from Ellis County Clerk Donna Maskus that he was not eligible to be on the ballot.

The board voted 5-1 Monday to take no action on the election results, which board attorney Bill Jeter said would mean Waddell would take his seat.

Board member Sharon Befort, an incumbent who chose not to seek re-election, was the lone dissenting vote. Incumbent Richard Kraemer, who lost in his re-election bid in the April 2 vote, was absent.

Waddell will join Lance Bickle and Danielle Robben as new members of the school board at the first meeting in July.

After the election earlier this month, Maskus said Waddell — who received the second highest vote total — was ineligible to be on the ballot because he was not registered to vote in Ellis County. When she certified the election results, she made a notation on the certificate that Waddell was ineligible.

For more on the story, see Tuesday's Hays Daily News.