Herbert handles URSS feature at Dodge City


Special to The Hays Daily News

DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 11, 2013) - Brian Herbert made the most of an opportunity to race in front of his home town crowd by driving to victory lane in Saturday night's 25-lap United Rebel Sprint Series feature event atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval.

Herbert, the defending series champion, took the lead away from Jerry Caldwell on the third round then held off his chasers in the final laps through traffic for his first win of the year.

"I was a little concerned there, I didn't have any way of knowing if anyone was close or not there at the end," Herbert commented.

With Herbert gridding the feature outside row two, Jerry Caldwell and Richie Dewell led the way to the green flag. Caldwell jumped into the early lead with Herbert moving to second on the opening circuit then slipping underneath Caldwell in turns one and two for the lead on the third lap with Dewell and Ray Seemann also making their past Caldwell.

The lead trio of Herbert, Dewell and Seemann distanced themselves from the pack, reaching the tail of the field just past the midway point. Herbert kept his chasers at bay over the final circuits to secure the win with Dewell and Seemann filling out the podium.

After making his way past Caldwell for fourth on the 12th round, Ty Williams closed a full straightaway on the lead trio and was on Seemann's tailtank in fourth as the checkered flag flew. A straightaway behind the top four, Keefe Hemel rounded out the top five.

Herbert also won the Keizer Wheels Hard Charger award

Feature Results:

1 Brian Herbert

2 Richie Dewell

3 Ray Seemann

4 Ty Williams

5 Keefe Hemel

6 Taylor Velasquez

7 Jerry Caldwell

8 Barry Crane

9 Connor Atkinson

10 Koby Walters

11 Craig Jecha

12 Kris Moore

13 Jared Kern

14 Kaden Taylor

15 Tyler Knight

Heat Race Winners: Ray Seemann, Kaden Taylor.