Campbell cruises to NCRA sprint victory


Special to The Hays Daily News

Park City, Kansas - May 11, 2013 - Jeremy Campbell took the lead at the start and never looked back as he dominated action as the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products 360-ci sprint car division made their second appearance of the season at 81 Speedway in Park City.

Luke Cranston started on the S&S Trailer Sales pole for the thirty lap feature but it was Campbell who jumped out into the lead as the green flag fell. Joshua Hodges, Cranston, Wyatt Burks and Jon Freeman gave chase but Campbell would quickly open a ten car length lead by lap two.

The first of four cautions would wave on lap four when Burks would relinquish his fourth place position as he spun at the top of turns one and two. The attempted restart was aborted when Michelle Decker spun to a stop at the bottom of turns one and two.

Campbell, aboard his familiar Schroeder/Campbell owned #10c, wasted little time on the restart as his Schroeder powered Maxim chassis once again opened a ten car length lead.

The leader would encounter lapped traffic for the first time on lap nine while behind him, Hodges was having his hands full holding on to the runner up position as veteran Peters worked his way up from his fifth starting position.

At the races midway point it was all Campbell by a full straight away as lapped traffic never slowed the sprint car veteran. Meanwhile Hodges had his hands full with Peters and Johnson for the runner up position while behind them, Jonathan Cornell made his way into fifth after starting thirteenth.

The caution would wave on lap seventeen, once again for Burks as he slowed on the front stretch. This allowed Cornell to pass Johnson and Peters on the restart and take over the third position.

The restart didn't slow the leader down as Campbell once again powered away from the rest of the field, entering lapped traffic again on lap twenty-two and holding a half stretch lead. His pace was slowed one last time as Ricky Stangl coasted down the front stretch to bring out the final caution.

With three laps remaining on the final restart, Campbell again powered away from the field while behind him, Hodges and Cornell battled for the runner up position as Cornell got by the New Mexico traveler for second in turns one and two, only to have Hodges regain the spot entering turns three and four.

But back up front there was no catching Campbell as he would go the final laps unchallenged to take the victory. Cornell got back by Hodges on the last lap to finish second, a half stretch behind the leader with Hodges settling for third. Peters came home fourth while ninth starting Danny Wood, who informed series officials his plans to compete full-time on the tour this year, rounded out the top five.

The eight lap heat races for the twenty car field were won by Freeman, Peters and Cranston.

The next event for the NCRA 360-ci sprint car tour will take place on Friday night, May 24th at RPM Speedway in Hays, Kansas for the third annual "Sprint Car Mania."

The National Championship Racing Association would like to thank the following for their involvement with the series sprint car division for the 2013 race season:

Park City, Kansas, Precise Racing Products, Hoosier Racing Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels, S&S Trailer Sales, Inc

NCRA 360 Sprints

81 Speedway/Park City, Kansas


20 cars

1st Heat:1) Jon Freeman (Salina, Ks), 2) Jeremy Campbell (Wichita, Ks), 3) CJ Johnson (Quinter, Ks), 4) A.J. Selenke (Wichita, Ks), 5) Jonathon Cornell (Sedalia, Mo), 6) Forest Sutherland (Cherryvale, KS), 7) Justin Schwien (Russell, Ks)

2nd Heat: 1) Mike Peters, 2) Josh Hodges (Tijeras, NM), 3) Marc Robe (Wichita , Ks), 4) Michelle Decker (Guthrie, Ok), 5) Brad Graham (Springfield, Mo), 6) Jeff Stasa (Kingman, Ks), 7) Rick Wright Jr. (Ponca City, Ok)

3rd Heat: 1) Luke Cranston (Ness City, Ks), 2) Wyatt Burks (Topeka, Ks), 3) Danny Wood (Norman, Ok), 4) Adam Gullion (Lincoln, Ne), 5) Ricky Stangl (Lee Summit, Mo), 6) Danny Jennings (Norman, Ok)

A Feature: 1) 10c Jeremy Campbell (Wichita, Ks), 2) 28 Jonathon Cornell (Sedalia, Mo), 3) 74x Josh Hodges (Tijeras, NM), 4) 51 Mike Peters, 5) 81w Danny Wood (Norman, Ok), 6) e85 CJ Johnson (Quinter, Ks), 7) 20 Luke Cranston (Ness City, Ks), 8) 1 Danny Jennings (Norman, Ok), 9) 21 Marc Robe (Wichita , Ks), 10) 81 Jon Freeman (Salina, Ks), 11) 91 Jeff Stasa (Kingman, Ks), 12) 04 Brad Graham (Springfield, Mo), 13) 7 Michelle Decker (Guthrie, Ok), 14) 85 Forest Sutherland (Cherryvale, KS), 15) 76 Justin Schwien (Russell, Ks), 16) 24 Ricky Stangl (Lee Summit, Mo), 17) 35 Rick Wright Jr. (Ponca City, Ok), 18) 11w Wyatt Burks (Topeka, Ks), 19) 43 A.J. Selenke (Wichita, Ks), 20) 32 Adam Gullion (Lincoln, Ne)