NCRA sprint season finale Saturday


Special to The Hays Daily News

Park City, Kansas - October 22, 2013 - The 24th consecutive season for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products 360-ci sprint car division will come to a conclusion this coming Saturday night as the tour headlines the annual "Wix Filters/Bumper to Bumper Fall Classic" at 81 Speedway in Park City.

C.J. Johnson of Quinter, Kansas will look to "three-peat" the tour championship and become a fourth-time overall champion. He will come into the night with a 75 point advantage over former tour champion Jeremy Campbell of Wichita. Both drivers have picked up one tour victory on the season. Johnson's came back in May at RPM Speedway in Hays, Kansas while Campbell's came at 81 Speedway back in early May.

With it a two-car battle for the point championship, positions three and four in the point standings is also a two-car race. Jon Freeman currently holds down third by just 45 points over Kingman's Jeff Stasa. J.D. Johnson looks to have the fifth position locked in by drawing in for the night's races while injured Mike Peters will hope to claim the sixth position in the standings.

Seventh through tenth in the standings and looking to maintain their positions to be eligible for awards at the season ending banquet include; Danny Wood, Wyatt Burks, Marc Robe and Luke Cranston.

Adult grandstand admission is just $12 for ages 11 and up while children 6-10 grandstand admission is just $5.

Pit gates will open at 5:00 PM with a start slated for 7:00 PM.

81 Speedway is located north of Wichita on I-135 to exit 16, then .7 mile west on 77th St. in Park City. For more race and ticket information contact the 81 Speedway office (316) 755-1781.

Since 1971 the NCRA has sanctioned dirt track races across the Great Plains with the series currently sanctioning five other divisions. They include modifieds, southern sport modifieds, late models, 360 sprint cars, 305 sprint cars and new mod lites. The 2013 season for the National Championship Racing Association is the 43rd anniversary season with races scheduled at sixteen different race tracks across Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas and Missouri.