Rogers, Wehling news faces in Hays winner's circle


Special to The Hays Daily News

HAYS, KS (May 10)--Jason Rogers of Selden and Russell's Ron Wehling were first time winners this season at RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, Saturday night, May 10.

Rogers took the lead from Cody Williams on the second lap of the 20-lap Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature and led the rest of the way to the checkers. B.J. Wagoner finished second, followed by Dustin McClurg, heat two winner Jason Davis, and Nolan Remus. Point leader Jeff Tubbs won the other heat race.

Wehling took control of the 20-lap Rebel Tank Service IMCA Hobby Stock feature on lap 5. Mike Giesenhagen led the opening lap before Monte Honas moved into the top spot. After a lap 4 caution, Wehling shot past Honas for the lead and was able to hold off 'The Wild Child' Garrett Hager and point leader Adam Armstrong in a close race to the finish. Trevor 'The Hit Man' Schmidt and Cody 'Bam Bam' Graham rounded out the top five. Heat race winners were Schmidt, Travis Coop, Wehling and Armstrong. Jason Sucky won the B-feature.

'The Iceman' David Murray of Oberlin won his second S & W Supply IMCA Modified feature at Hays this season. Heat one winner Jesse Richter led the first 8 laps before Murray made the pass. 'Dynamite' Dylan Sherfick made a late race charge but had to settle for the runner-up spot. Kyle Rohleder was third, trailed by second heat winner Mike Petersilie and Eddie Belec.

Tyler Frye of Belleville continued his dominance in the Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Northern Sport Mod division as he won his fourth feature in five races at RPM Speedway this season. 'The Frye Man' took the lead from heat one winner Tracy Holloway on lap 11 and held on in a caution plagued 20-lap race that saw only 8 out of 21 starters take the checkers. 'The Money Man' Clay Money was second, followed by heat two victor Daniel Gottschalk, Holloway, and Brian Conness. Nate Ginest and Cory Struckhoff also won heat races.

Kiowa Higdon of Hays won his second Tom's Machine & Welding IMCA Sport Compact feature in a row. After a lap 2 caution in the 12-lap event, Higdon took the lead from Dean Herzog on the restart and led the remaining distance. Dean Herzog, heat race winners Art Herzog and Kirk Pfannenstiel, and Madison Reed rounded out the top five.

The Cruisers made their first ever appearance at RPM Speedway and heat race winners Tony & Talbot Driscoll took the lead from Cole Dinges & Austin Tammen with 2 laps remaining to win the main event. Brady & Dee Bauer finished third.

The evening's race sponsor was Carrico Implement. It was also Kids Night and 62 bicycles were given away.

Racing returns to RPM Speedway on Saturday, May 24, with the regular five divisions in action along with the school buses. Race time is 7:00 p.m.


IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat race winners: Art Herzog, Kirk Pfannenstiel.

Feature: 1. Kiowa Higdon, 2. Dean Herzog, 3. A. Herzog, 4. Pfannenstiel, 5. Madison Reed, 6. Justin Rohr, 7. Richard Tegethoff, 8. Brandon Lobdell (DNF), 9. Shaun Wood (DNF).

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: Trevor Schmidt, Travis Coop, Ron Wehling, Adam Armstrong.

B-Feature (top 4 advance): 1. Jason Sucky, 2. Daniel Irwin, 3. Kent Tammen, 4. H.J. Colburn, 5. Brady Bencken, 6. Billy McBride, 7. Aaron Gray, 8. Preston Shamburg, 9. Brett Henke, 10. Oscar Runyon (DNF), 11. Christopher McNulty (DNF), 12. Shay Simoneau (DNF).

A-Feature: 1. Wehling, 2. Garrett Hager, 3. Armstrong, 4. Schmidt, 5. Cody Graham, 6. Coop, 7. G.W. Fuller, 8. Sucky, 9. Monte Honas, 10. Colton Pfeifer, 11. Mike Giesenhagen, 12. Irwin, 13. William Bauer, 14. Tammen, 15. Colburn, 16. Darren Unrein, 17. Lyle Russell, 18. Kyle Pfeifer, 19. Tommy Fose (DNF), 20. T.C. McKain (DNS).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Tracy Holloway, Daniel Gottschalk, Nate Ginest, Cory Struckhoff.

Feature: 1. Tyler Frye, 2. Clay Money, 3. Gottschalk, 4. Holloway, 5. Brian Conness, 6. Pat Bedore, 7. Trenton Kleweno, 8. J.R. Ewing, 9. Kurtis Pihl (DNF), 10. Dakota Sproul (DNF), 11. Ginest (DNF), 12. Cory McGann (DNF), 13. Michael Copper (DNF), 14. Struckhoff (DNF), 15. Tony Fisher (DNF), 16. Mark Axelson (DNF), 17. Rick Julian (DNF), 18. Cody Pancake (DNF), 19. Brenden Damon (DNF), 20. Blaine Walt (DNF), 21. Dan Lauer (DNF), 22. Eric Pfeifer (DNS), 23. Kaid Calhoon (DNS), 24. Jeremy Couse (DNS).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Jeff Tubbs, Jason Davis.

Feature: 1. Jason Rogers, 2. B.J. Wagoner, 3. Dustin McClurg, 4. Davis, 5. Nolan Remus, 6. Nick Tubbs, 7. J. Tubbs, 8. Kevin Wagoner, 9. Robert Rutherford, 10. John Annon (DNF), 11. Derek Wendt, 12. Cody Williams (DNF).

IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Jesse Richter, Mike Petersilie.

Feature: 1. David Murray, 2. Dylan Sherfick, 3. Kyle Rohleder, 4. Petersilie, 5. Eddie Belec, 6. Richter, 7. Cody Gearhart, 8. Corey Lagroon, 9. Jason Schoenberger, 10. Jeff Hunter, 11. Clay Sellard, 12. Brian Calhoon, 13. Shaylon Holloway, 14. Marty Clark, 15. Dusty Springer, 16. John Frabrizius, 17. Ronnie Hill (DNF).


Feature: 1. Tony Driscoll/Talbot Driscoll, 2. Cole Dinges/Austin Tammen, 3. Brady Bauer/Dee Bauer, 4. Jeff McQuad/Jordan Steinert, 5. Shaun Wood/Harlan Kuntsch, 6. Blaise Lehman/Mike Lehman, 7. Scott Lang/Shawn Lang, 8. Dustin Prewitt/Austin Prewitt (DNF).