Regular divisions return at RPM Speedway


Special to The Hays Daily News

HAYS, KS (June 1)--The five regular IMCA divisions returned to RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, on Saturday evening, June 1. Also on tap was the 'Boat Race.'

The S & W Supply IMCA Modified feature was a race for survival as only 7 of the 19 starters took the checkers. Early leaders Troy Plummer and Rodger Peck were two of the victims. 'Dynamite' Dylan Sherfick of Wakeeney took the lead from Peck before he retired on lap 15 and held on to the finish. John Fabrizius finished second, followed by Brian Calhoon, David 'The Soul Man' Solberg, and 'The Terminator' Travis Sherfick. Dylan became the fifth different modified feature winner in five races for that division. Heat race winners were Peck, Dylan Sherfick, and Plummer.

'Leadfoot' Luke Pfannenstiel led the first 3 laps of the Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature before Tyler Tipton took control. As the field came to the halfway mark in the 20-lap race, Selden's Jason Rogers took the lead. Heat one winner Nick 'The Spiderman' Tubbs chased Rogers but settled for the runner-up spot in a battle with his brother Jeff Tubbs. Tipton finished fourth, followed by 'The Hammer' Josh Hudson. Pat Bedore won the other heat race.

'The Money Man' Clay Money of Penokee used lapped traffic to his advantage to claim the win in the Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Northern Sport Mod A-feature. Jeremy Sigler led the opening lap before a melee on the frontstraight on lap 2 eliminated Cory Struckhoff, Kaid Calhoon and Andy Barton. When the green flag returned, Cory McGann passed Sigler for the lead and continued to lead at the halfway point of the 20-lap event. Money chased McGann down as the top two caught up to lapped traffic. McGann got caught up behind a slower car as he and Money went through turn 4 on lap 17 and Money took the top spot and held on for his first win at Hays this season. McGann had to settle for second, trailed by Austin Carter, 'The Frye Man' Tyler Frye, and Sigler. Heat race winners included Calhoon, McGann, and Cody Pancake, with Darrin Crouch taking top honors in the B-feature.

Cody 'Bam Bam' Graham of Hays took the lead from young Colton Pfeifer on lap 9 of the Rebel Tank Service IMCA Hobby Stock feature and went on to claim his third feature win at the 3/8-mile oval this season. Heat one winner G.W. 'Cheeseburger' Fuller was second, with Pfeifer, heat two winner Aaron Gray, and Mark Normandin completing the top five. T.C. McKain also won a heat race.

Monte Honas of Ellis won his third D K Ranch IMCA Sport Compact feature in a row. Art Herzog led the first four laps before the red flag waved when Justin Rohr rolled off turn 2. Rohr was okay but done for the evening. When the race restarted, Honas passed Herzog for a lead he would not relinquish. Art Herzog, Dean Herzog, heat one victor Michael Smith, and Kirk Pfannenstiel rounded out the top five. Honas won the other heat race.

Nine school buses were entered in the boat race, and after all the carnage on the track, Phillip 'Peanut Butter' Brown defended his win from last year.

The evening's race sponsor was Carrico Implement. Over 60 bicycles were also given away thanks to several area merchants and individuals.

Racing returns to Hays on Saturday, June 15, as the five regular IMCA divisions return. Race time is 7:00 p.m.


IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat race winners: Michael Smith, Monte Honas.

Feature: 1. Honas, 2. Art Herzog, 3. Dean Herzog, 4. Smith, 5. Kirk Pfannenstiel, 6. Tanner Chapin, 7. Kiowa Higdon, 8. Madison Reed, 9. Brady Bencken, 10. Irvin Earl, 11. Andrew Soderlund, 12. Ed Jasper, 13. Justin Rohr (DNF), 14. Tristen Barton (DNS).

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: G.W. Fuller, Aaron Gray, T.C. McKain.

Feature: 1. Cody Graham, 2. Fuller, 3. Colton Pfeifer, 4. Gray, 5. Mark Normandin, 6. Kent Tammen, 7. Travis Coop, 8. Jeromy Wagner, 9. Garrett Hager, 10. Ron Wehling, 11. Daniel Irwin, 12. Trevor Schmidt, 13. Austin Tammen, 14. Leon Pfannenstiel, 15. McKain, 16. Donnie Werth, 17. Aaron Honas, 18. Al Emmons, 19. Wayne Robben, 20. Darren Unrein (DNF), 21. Justin Meserve (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Kaid Calhoon, Cory McGann, Cody Pancake.

B-Feature (top 5 advance): 1. Darrin Crouch, 2. Daniel Gottschalk, 3. Jerrod Couse, 4. J.R. Ewing, 5. Bentley Pywell, 6. Jeremy Couse, 7. Tony Fisher, 8. Phillip Goering, 9. Chance Miller, 10. Jay Weigel (DNF), 11. Kamren Gruber (DNF), 12. Ryan Gier (DNS).

A-Feature: 1. Clay Money, 2. McGann, 3. Austin Carter, 4. Tyler Frye, 5. Jeremy Sigler, 6. Brian Fink, 7. Gottschalk, 8. Kurtis Pihl, 9. Trenton Kleweno, 10. Jerrod Couse, 11. Pancake, 12. Crouch, 13. Ewing, 14. Cory Monsell, 15. Pywell, 16. Blaine Walt (DNF), 17. Cory Struckhoff (DNF), 18. Andy Barton (DNF), 19. Calhoon (DNF), 20. Michael Copper (DNS).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Nick Tubbs, Pat Bedore.

Feature: 1. Jason Rogers, 2. N. Tubbs, 3. Jeff Tubbs, 4. Tyler Tipton, 5. Josh Hudson, 6. Nolan Remus, 7. Shaylon Holloway, 8. B.J. Wagoner, 9. Scot Granzella, 10. Dustin McClurg, 11. Jason Davis, 12. Luke Pfannenstiel, 13. Trevor Thornton, 14. Bedore (DNF), 15. Jason McCartney (DNF), 16. Monroe Schmidt (DNS).

IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Rodger Peck, Dylan Sherfick, Troy Plummer.

Feature: 1. D. Sherfick, 2. John Fabrizius, 3. Brian Calhoon, 4. David Solberg, 5. Travis Sherfick, 6. Marty Clark, 7. Milo Lippelmann, 8. Dusty Springer (DNF), 9. Peck (DNF), 10. Kyle Rohleder (DNF), 11. Tim Watts (DNF), 12. Ronnie Hill (DNF), 13. Plummer (DNF), 14. John Fose (DNF), 15. Corey Lagroon (DNF), 16. Chadd Brown (DNF), 17. Nate Moore (DNF), 18. Daniel Krieger (DNF), 19. Jerry Teel (DNF).