Three drivers repeat at RPM Speedway


Special to The Hays Daily News

HAYS, KS (June 15)--Three drivers returned to victory lane at RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, on Saturday evening, June 15.

The S & W Supply IMCA Modified feature saw its sixth different winner in six outings for the division. 'Smokin' Joe Cleveland led the opening lap but then developed problems and went to the pits, giving the lead to Jerry Teel. Teel led 2 laps before Corey Lagroon took control. Lagroon then led 2 laps before Oberlin's David Murray Jr. took over the top spot. A caution late in the race bunched the field but Murray held on for the victory, followed by Lagroon, Brian Calhoon, Tim Watts, and Teel. Murray and Cleveland were victorious in the two heat races.

The Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature was close all the way in the 20-lap caution free race. Cody Williams led the first 6 laps but then got high on the backstretch and fell back several spots. 'The Spiderman' Nick Tubbs of Colby then shot to the lead with Jason Rogers of Selden right behind. Rogers stayed right on Tubbs' bumper the rest of the distance but just could not make a pass and had to settle for the runner-up spot. First heat winner Nolan Remus finished third, followed by Josh 'The Hammer' Hudson and Jeff Tubbs. Jason Davis won the other heat race.

'The Money Man' Clay Money of Penokee won his second A-feature in a row in the Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Northern Sport Mod division, and did it the hard way. Bentley Pywell led the opening lap before the caution waved on lap 2 for Money, who had come to a stop on the track. Money went to the pits and pulled back on the track as the field went back to green and was half a lap down. Trenton Kleweno in the meantime took the lead, only to have the field regroup after cautions on laps 5 and 7. When the green flag returned after the lap 7 caution, Money had worked his way through the 19-car field to fifth. Money then passed Kleweno on lap 10 and held on the remaining 5 laps for the victory. Brian Fink was third, followed by Cory McGann and 18th starting Daniel Gottschalk. Heat race winners included Money, Fink, Kleweno, and Andy Barton, with 'The Frye Man' Tyler Frye topping the field in the 12-lap B-feature.

Colton Pfeifer led the opening lap of the Rebel Tank Service IMCA Hobby Stock feature. But Pfeifer spun on lap 3 and was tagged by both Austin Tammen and Ron Wehling, ending the night for all three drivers. Birthday boy 'Cheeseburger' G.W. Fuller led the field back to green followed by hometown driver 'Bam Bam' Cody Graham. The caution waved on lap 5 for debris, then the red flag flew on lap 6 when Al Emmons rolled. He was okay but done for the night. Fuller led the field back to green, but Graham got by on lap 13 to take the lead and held on the final 2 laps to score his 4th win of the season at the 3/8-mile oval. Fuller held to second, followed by Aaron Gray, 'Neon' Leon Pfannenstiel, and Aaron Honas. T.C. McKain, Travis Coop and Garrett Hager won the three heat races.

Monte Honas of Ellis won his fourth D K Ranch IMCA Sport Compact feature in a row. Shyla Hughes led the first few laps before Honas made his winning pass. Hughes chased Honas but had to settle for second. Dean Herzog beat out Art Herzog for third, with point leader Michael Smith rounding out the top five. Heat race winners were Tristen Barton and Honas.

It was 'Pink Night' to raise awareness for breast cancer.

The evening's race sponsor was Gib's Auto Supply of Hays & Lacrosse.

Racing returns to Hays on Saturday, June 29, as the five regular IMCA divisions return. Race time is 7:00 p.m.


IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat race winners: Tristen Barton, Monte Honas.

Feature: 1. Honas, 2. Shyla Hughes, 3. Dean Herzog, 4. Art Herzog, 5. Michael Smith, 6. Tanner Chapin, 7. Brandon Lobdell, 8. Kirk Pfannenstiel, 9. Madison Reed, 10. Ed Jasper, 11. Kiowa Higdon, 12. Brett Henke, 13. Andrew Soderlund, 14. Dallas Dunn (DNF), 15. Barton (DNF), 16. Irvin Earl (DNF), 17. Brady Bencken (DNS).

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: T.C. McKain, Travis Coop, Garrett Hager.

Feature: 1. Cody Graham, 2. G.W. Fuller, 3. Aaron Gray, 4. Leon Pfannenstiel, 5. Aaron Honas, 6. Hager, 7. Jeromy Wagner, 8. McKain, 9. Mark Normandin, 10. Daniel Irwin, 11. Roger Garrison, 12. Donnie Werth (DNF), 13. Coop (DNF), 14. Kent Tammen (DNF), 15. Al Emmons (DNF), 16. Darren Unrein (DNF), 17. Ron Wehling (DNF), 18. Austin Tammen (DNF), 19. Colton Pfeifer (DNF), 20. Trevor Schmidt (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Clay Money, Brian Fink, Trenton Kleweno, Andy Barton.

B-Feature (top 4 advance): 1. Tyler Frye, 2. Cory Struckhoff, 3. Daniel Gottschalk, 4. C.J. Pfannenstiel, 5. Phillip Goering, 6. Chance Miller (DNF), 7. Jeremy Couse (DNF), 8. Mark Axelson (DNF), 9. Tyler Watts (DNF), 10. Tracey Holloway (DNF), 11. Tony Fisher (DNF), 12. Jerrod Couse (DNS), 13. Ryan Gier (DNS).

A-Feature: 1. Money, 2. Kleweno, 3. Fink, 4. Cory McGann, 5. Gottschalk, 6. Struckhoff, 7. Kurtis Pihl, 8. Austin Carter, 9. Kenny Schmidt, 10. Pfannenstiel, 11. Joe Couse, 12. Michael Copper, 13. Barton, 14. Cody Pancake, 15. Jeremy Sigler, 16. Bentley Pywell, 17. Kamren Gruber, 18. J.R. Ewing, 19. Frye (DNF), 20. Tim Gassman (DNS).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Nolan Remus, Jason Davis.

Feature: 1. Nick Tubbs, 2. Jason Rogers, 3. Remus, 4. Josh Hudson, 5. Jeff Tubbs, 6. Pat Bedore, 7. Scot Granzella, 8. Cody Williams, 9. Kyle Clough, 10. Jason McCartney, 11. Davis, 12. Trevor Thornton (DNF), 13. Arnold Williams (DNF), 14. B.J. Wagoner (DNF), 15. Monroe Schmidt.

IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: David Murray Jr., Joe Cleveland.

Feature: 1. Murray, 2. Corey Lagroon, 3. Brian Calhoon, 4. Tim Watts, 5. Jerry Teel, 6. John Fabrizius, 7. Milo Lippelmann, 8. Scott Brown, 9. David Solberg, 10. Chadd Brown, 11. John Fose (DNF), 12. Rodger Peck (DNF), 13. Dylan Sherfick (DNF), 14. Ronnie Hill (DNF), 15. Cleveland (DNF), 16. Daniel Krieger (DNS).