Frye finds way to front, wins at Salina opener


SALINA -- It wasn't a front-row starting spot, but Tyler Frye wasn't about to complain.

Nor was he when he found himself in the lead after the first lap.

That's just where the sport mod driver stayed Saturday night in the feature race of the class at the season-opener at Salina Speedway.

"We drew good for the start, drew third,"  Frye said. "I let everybody else make their mistake, then took the lead. I got out there on the first couple of starts, then stayed out there to win it. It was nice to get that first win."

Frye made things look easy en route to his fourth win of the season in five nights as he led all 15 laps.

"It was the first points race, so it was nice to start the season off with a win," he said. "It kind of gives you momentum through the first couple of races. Hopefully we'll get a few more early on."

While Frye held down the top spot and held off chargers after three cautions once the race was under way, the action heated up behind him.

Seth Schroer settled into second place from lap two until the final turn. That's when Austin Carter, who won the stock car track title at Salina last year, edged by him coming out of turn four for the runner-up spot.

Carter and Schroer were locked in an intense battle for the last half of the race before Carter took advantage when Schroer slipped a bit too high on the final lap.

Adam Patch rounded out the top four finishers.

"It helps with momentum,"  Frye said. "You have to keep the momentum going throughout the year to win the points. And we've got it so far."

* Russell Roberg dominated the mini stock feature to claim the win. Chris Dittrick was second, followed by Dallas Dunn in third.

* Roy Armstrong claimed the win in a wild hobby stock feature. He was battling with G.W. Fuller for the lead when a lap car forced Armstrong to go high and forced Fuller into the wall on the front stretch. A cloud of cement dust flew into the air as he made contact, and the damage was enough to end Fuller's night. Shane Slezak finished second, with Mike Traskowsky in third.

* Joe Cleveland started off strong, just like he finished last year. Cleveland won the modified main event, followed by Danny Morrison Jr. and Brian Knoell. Rodger Peck was fourth.

* Morrison also claimed a top-three finish in the mod lite feature, finishing third behind Corbin Pickerill and Tyler Bradshaw. Brandon Gray was fourth.

* Delbert Smith won the late model A-main. Darrick Klima was second, with Justin Kinderknecht in third.

* Racing returns to Salina Speedway on Friday.