Morrison holds of Kinderknecht at the line in Salina


Special to The Hays Daily News

SALINA -- Nearly 100 race teams checked into the Salina Speedway this past Friday night May 10th as mother nature finally let fans get in some racing action at America's Fast Track to Fun.

The most thrilling feature event of the night occurred in the Auto House Mod Lite division. Justin Kinderknecht opened with the lead and seemed to have things locked up until Danny Morrison Jr. and Corbin Pickerill joined in. Pickerill over took Kinderknecht for the lead but then got sideways nearly collecting Morrison as the three leaders fought for first. Pickerill's bid for the win was over but Kinderknecht and Morrison put on a side by side pass swapping run for the win with Morrison edging Kinderknecht by a couple of feet to win the race. Pickerill finished third with Chris Unruh in fourth. Kinderknecht, Pickerill, and Morrison won the heat races.

After winning a good number of races last season Darrick Klima proved he could do it again as he placed his Friesen Chevrolet Late Model presented by M&H Motors in the top spot for the win. Week one winner Delbert Smith came on strong at the end to finish second with Jimmy Segraves third and Chris Kratzer fourth. Smith and Segraves won the heat races earlier in the night.

In a repeat of the previous race's performance Brandon Blochlinger and Corey Lagroon battled for the top spot once again, with Blochlinger coming out on top this time around for the Belleville Motorsports IMCA Modifieds. Lagroon settled for second with Joe Cleveland third, and Mike Petersilie fourth. Rodger Peck, Blochlinger, and Lagroon won the heat races.

After a sluggish finish in his heat race Tyler Frye came back on a mission in the feature event for the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Northern SportMods. After starting fifteenth Frye missed most of the carnage that took its toll on the division to score another win. Austin Carter worked his way back through the field to take second with Seth Schroer third, and Josh Rice fourth. Brenden Damon, Schroer, and Carter won the heat races.

Duane Toyne returned to his old stomping grounds all the way from Austin, Texas to pilot his #48 Coors Light Street Stock to the first feature win for the division on the season. Toyne set sail from the pole position and never looked back in a caution free race. Geoff Jermark finished second with Tony Steenson third, and Mike Traskowsky fourth. Traskowsky won the heat race.

A marathon feature was staged for the Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stock as caution flags plagued their feature event. At the end Mike Traskowsky picked up another win ahead of John Steele, Aaron McBride, and Duane McAnarney. Wayne Juenemann, Tommy Shomaker, and McAnarney won the heat races.

Racing continues on May 17th at the Salina Speedway with the Friesen Chevrolet Late Models presented by M&H Motors, Belleville Motorsports IMCA Modifieds, Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Northern SportMods, Auto House Mod Lites, Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stocks, and T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stocks.