Last-lap pass nets Iceman win at Salina


Special to The Hays Daily News

SALINA, Kan. -- With the grandstands packed full of fans a big race night unhinged with action on Friday July 12 at the Salina Speedway.

Wichitan Delbert Smith captured another feature victory in the Friesen Chevrolet Late Models presented by M&H Motors but had to work hard for it. Jimmy Segraves took the lead early and looked to be en route to the win until a caution bunched things up. Segraves, who had been running the high line, moved to the bottom where he knew the "Iceman" would be and was able to hold him off until the white flag lap. Smith calculated his move perfectly, working the outside of turns 3 & 4 to inch ahead of Segraves exiting turn four and hold on for the win. Segraves finished a close second with Darrick Klima third and Daniel Smith fourth. Klima and Segraves won the heat races.

Mike Petersilie checked in to the Belleville Motorsports IMCA Modified victory lane for the first time this season, dominating the feature event. Once Petersilie took command he took off to a huge lead for the win. Danny Morrison Jr. tried reeling him in but settled for second with Joe Cleveland third, and Rodger Peck fourth. Morrison and Brian Knoell won the heat races.

Danny Morrison Jr. started off the first of his two feature events with a win in capturing the checkered in the Auto House Mod Lite division. Morrison was followed across the line by car owner Brian Davidson in second with Justin Kinderknecht third and Bam Ayers fourth. Trey Morgan finished in the runner-up spot but was disqualified in post-race tech for not wearing gloves. Morrison and Morgan were the heat winners.

Another wild Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA SportMod feature ended early as the time limit and caution limit were reached. After the green, white, checkered finish Fred Traskowsky was standing in Victory Lane for the first time, triumphing over Mark Franklin, Kurtis Pihl, and Seth Schroer. Traskowsky, Eric Cross, and Josh Rice won the heat races.

Brian Dunsworth jumped out to a big early lead and held off a surging Russell Roberg to capture the win in the T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stocks. Roberg finished second with Stacey Huffman third and Michael Smith fourth. Roberg won the heat race.

Racing continues on Friday July 19th with the Late Models, Street Stocks, IMCA SportMods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, and Mini Stocks in action. Race time is set for 8:00PM. Adults are $12 and kids 17 & under are FREE.

For more information on the Salina Speedway:

Visit www.racesalinaspeedway on the web

Like us on Facebook at

Follow us on Twitter at @salinaspeedway1

Join our text blasts by texting SALINA to 99000