Repeat winners highlight mid-season championships at Salina


Special to The Hays Daily News

SALINA, Kan. -- All five divisions of racing on Friday June 28 featured repeat winners on the 2013 season.

Delbert Smith once again paced the Friesen Chevrolet Late Models presented by M&H Motors feature event for another victory. Justin Kinderknecht finished second, Darrick Klima third, and Chris Kratzer fourth. Jimmy Segraves and Klima won the heat races. Klima is the Mid-Season Champion by three points ahead of Smith.

Joe Cleveland extended his points lead by advancing ten positions to win yet again in the Belleville Motorsports IMCA Modifieds. Corey Lagroon finished second with Danny Morrison Jr. in third and Grant Junghans fourth. Brandon Blochlinger, Lagroon, and Brian Knoell won the heat races. Cleveland is the Mid-Season Champion by thirty-six points ahead of Lagroon.

Jesse Levin came out on top in the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Northern SportMod feature event. Mark Franklin finished second with Josh Rice and Tyler Frye rounding out the top four. Jeremy Sigler, Levin, and Franklin won the heat races. Frye is the Mid-Season Champion by nineteen points over Kurtis Pihl.

GW Fuller raced to a big win in the Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stock division. Tony Slothower chased him down to finish second, followed by Mike Traskowsky in third and Brian Stich in fourth. Pete Beaumont and Fuller won the heat races. Traskowsky captured the Mid-Season title by twenty-two points over Aaron McBride.

Russell Roberg once again captured victory in the T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stocks. Brian Dunsworth ended up second with Stacey Huffman third and Don Dale in fourth. Roberg and Dunsworth won the heat races. Dunsworth is the Mid-Season Champion over Huffman by seven points.

Racing continues Friday July 5 for the Third Annual Topless Challenge featuring topless (no roofs or sail panels) IMCA Modifieds racing for $1,000 to win and IMCA Northern SportMods racing for $500 to win. Race time is set for 8:00PM.

For more information on the Salina Speedway:

Visit www.racesalinaspeedway on the web

Like us on Facebook at

Follow us on Twitter at @salinaspeedway1

Join our text blasts by texting SALINA to 99000