Third times a charm at WaKeeney Speedway


Special to The Hays Daily News

WAKEENEY, KS (April 14)--Third time was a charm for Wakeeney (KS) Speedway. After the Spring Fling was weathered out the previous two attempts, Mother Nature finally cooperated Sunday, April 14, and over 140 race teams showed up to compete in the 5 divisions.

Jesse Sobbing of Glenwood, IA, took advantage of his pole starting position as he took the lead at the drop of the green in the 25-lap IMCA Modified feature. Three caution flags let the field catch up, but each time Sobbing pulled away and was first to the checkers and a $1,000 payday. Jason Schoenberger won the race for second, followed by 'The Terminator' Travis Sherfick, Marty Clark and 'The Wichita Lineman' Randy Wilson. B-feature winners were Colton Osborn and Rob Day, while Nate Moore, Jerry Teel, Dylan Sherfick and Tyler Iverson were victorious in the 4 heat races.

Salina's Scot Granzella took the lead on lap 8 from Michael Meyer in the Dirt Track Central Great Plains Series IMCA Stock Car main event and went on to score the win and a $750 winner's check. Tenth starting Justin Temeyer worked his way through the field to finish second, with Jeff Tubbs, Meyer, and Mike Nichols rounding out the top five. Nick Tubbs and Terry Cunningham won the 2 B-features, while Jason Rogers, Tyler Tipton, Meyer and Granzella were winners in their heat races.

Outside of a caution on lap 1 for a single car spin, the 20-lap IMCA Northern Sport Mod A-feature went caution free. And similar to Sobbing, 'The Frye Man' Tyler Frye of Belleville jumped out from his pole starting spot and never looked back enroute to the checkers and a $500 check. Dustin Daniels, Trenton Kleweno, Blaine Walt and Kurtis Pihl completed the top five. Chris Heim won the B-feature, with Walt, Daniel Gottschalk and Kaid Calhoon victorious in the heat races.

Rookie Colin Heim of Hoxie looked like he was going to score his first ever IMCA Hobby Stock victory, but 'Bam Bam' Cody Graham of Hays had other ideas. Heim led the first 14 laps of the main event and looked to be first to the checkers. But Graham, who started 11th, slowly worked his way through the pack, and on the last turn on the last lap, got past Heim for the victory and $500. With 2 wins the previous weekend in Hays, and 2 wins the night before in Norton, Graham now has a five race winning streak. 'The Wild Child' Garrett Hager finished third, followed by Austin Tammen and Kent Tammen. The B-feature winner was Kirk Karst, and heat race victors were Hager, Graham, and 'Neon' Leon Pfannenstiel.

The IMCA Sport Compacts made their first ever appearance at Wakeeney and did not disappoint. Michael Smith led the first 4 laps before a caution waved. On the restart, heat one winner Art Herzog of Hays took a lead he would not relinquish and make an appearance in the Jason Oil winner's circle. Smith held on to second, followed by second heat winner Kirk Pfannenstiel, Allen Rice and Brandon Lobell.

Racing action returns to Wakeeney Speedway on Sunday, April 28. The green flag will fly at 5:00 p.m.


IMCA Sport Compacts

Feature: 1. Art Herzog, 2. Michael Smith, 3. Kirk Pfannenstiel, 4. Allen Rice, 5. Brandon Lobdell, 6. Tristen Barton, 7. Scott Brown, 8. Dean Herzog, 9. Ed Jasper (DNF), 10. Vincent Jasper (DNF), 11. Tanner Chapin (DNF), 12. Madison Reed (DNF), 13. Jesse Prockish (DNF), 14. Jacob Olmstead (DNF), 15. Jarrett Pfannenstiel.

IMCA Hobby Stocks

B-Feature (top 8 advance): 1. Kirk Karst, 2. Tommy Fose, 3. Ron Wehling, 4. Jason McIntyre, 5. Colton Pfeifer, 6. Al Emmons, 7. Donnie Werth, 8. Wayne Robben, 9. Josh Hrabe, 10. Sierra Swart, 11. Robert Emmons, 12. Justin Meserve, 13. Adrienne West (DNF), 14. Roger Garrison (DNF), 15. Mike Giesenhagen (DNS).

A-Feature: 1. Cody Graham, 2. Colin Heim, 3. Garrett Hager, 4. Austin Tammen, 5. Kent Tammen, 6. Cody Davis, 7. Cody Ghumm, 8. Karst, 9. Brian Stich, 10. Jacob Crowell, 11. Wehling, 12. Trevor Schmidt, 13. Pfeifer, 14. McIntyre, 15. Leon Pfannenstiel, 16. Fose, 17. A. Emmons, 18. Robben, 19. Daniel Irwin (DNF), 20. Werth (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

B-Feature (top 8 advance): 1. Chris Heim, 2. Trenton Kleweno, 3. Brendon Damon, 4. Clay Money, 5. Tyler Watts, 6. Austin Walker, 7. Joe Couse, 8. Colby Hagans, 9. Jeremy Couse, 10. Bentley Pywell, 11. Ryan Stevenson (DNF), 12. Lucas Miller (DNF), 13. C.J. Pfannenstiel (DNF), 14. Andy Barton (DNS).

A-Feature: 1. Tyler Frye, 2. Dustin Daniels, 3. Kleweno, 4. Blaine Walt, 5. Kurtis Pihl, 6. Cory Struckhoff, 7. Mike Appel, 8. Josh Appel, 9. Willie Wynn, 10. Bryan Herrick, 11. Heim, 12. Joe Couse, 13. Walker, 14. Kaid Calhoon, 15. Daniel Gottschalk, 16. Damon, 17. Hagans, 18. Watts (DNF), 19. Bart Baker (DNF), 20. Money (DNF).

IMCA Stock Cars

B-Feature #1 (top 4 advance): 1. Nick Tubbs, 2. Perry Misner, 3. Andrew Henburg, 4. Angel Munoz, 5. Chris Adams, 6. Eric Kinderknecht, 7. Jared Brooks, 8. Josh Crombie (DNF), 9. Tony Steenson (DNS).

B-Feature #2 (top 4 advance): 1. Terry Cunningham, 2. Keith Riley, 3. Tyrel Smith, 4. Dalton Bauer, 5. Luke Pfannenstiel, 6. Pat Bedore, 7. Kyle Clough, 8. Cody Williams, 9. Austin Janousek, 10. Michael Pepper (DNS).

A-Feature: 1. Scot Granzella, 2. Justin Temeyer, 3. Jeff Tubbs, 4. Michael Meyer, 5. Mike Nichols, 6. N. Tubbs, 7. Tyler Tipton, 8. Jason Davis, 9. B.J. Wagoner, 10. Jason Rogers, 11. Jeff Joldersma, 12. Jesse Taylor, 13. Misner, 14. Casey Woken, 15. Smith, 16. Cunningham, 17. Bruce Plumisto, 18. Bauer, 19. Henburg, 20. Wheat Lippelmann, 21. Munoz, 22. Riley, 23. Mark Zorn (DNF), 24. Jerry Phillips (DNF).

IMCA Modifieds

B-Feature #1 (top 4 advance): 1. Colton Osborn, 2. Bill Albin, 3. Chadd Brown, 4. Matt Henke, 5. Barry Maupin, 6. Brad Keller, 7. Cale Osborn, 8. Wheat Lippelmann, 9. William Nusser, 10. Scott Brown (DNF), 11. Jeremy Zorn (DNS), 12. Ryan Heger (DNS).

B-Feature #2 (top 4 advance ): 1. Rob Day, 2. Rodger Peck, 3. Jeremy Frenier, 4. Shannon Maughlin, 5. Craig Colgin, 6. Danny Keller, 7. Troy Plummer, 8. John Fose, 9. Tim Watts, 10. Matt Fabrizius, 11. Taos Leighton (DNF), 12. Clayton Hogie (DNF).

A-Feature: 1. Jesse Sobbing, 2. Jason Schoenberger, 3. Travis Sherfick, 4. Marty Clark, 5. Randy Wilson, 6. John Fabrizius, 7. Dylan Sherfick, 8. Kyle Rohleder, 9. Brian Calhoon, 10. Nate Moore, 11. Frenier, 12. Peck, 13. Jason Haug, 14. Maughlin, 15. C. Brown, 16. Jerry Teel, 17. Henke, 18. Albin, 19. Corey Lagroon (DNF), 20. Colton Osborn (DNF), 21. Mike Petersilie (DNF), 22. Tyler Iverson (DNF), 23. Day (DNF), 24. Corey Burch (DNF).