WaKeeney Speedway opens regular season


Special to The Hays Daily News

WAKEENEY, KS (April 28)--Wakeeney (KS) Speedway got in their first regular season show on Sunday evening, April 28.

The IMCA Hobby Stock feature got off to a rough start as cars were 5 wide coming out of turn 2 on the opening lap. Brian Stich got caught on the outside with no where to go and went off the back and rolled. He was okay but done for the night. On the restart, outside polesitter Daniel Irwin of Hays took the lead at the drop of the green and held off the remaining 20 cars for the 15-lap event to make his way to the winner's circle, the first time Irwin has been there in his career. Heat one winner Cody Ghumm finished second, followed by Jeromy Wagner, Kirk Karst, and third heat winner 'Neon' Leon Pfannenstiel. 'Bam Bam' Cody Graham also won a heat race.

Penokee's Clay Money took advantage of starting on the pole and took a lead he would not relinquish in a caution filled 15-lap IMCA Northern Sport Mod feature. Several cautions kept the field bunched up, but each time, Money was up for the occasion and made his way to the Jason Oil winner's circle. Chris Heim, Daniel Gottschalk, Willie Wynn and Brenden Damon rounded out the top five. Heat race winners were Heim, Wynn, Josh Appel, and Money.

'Sweet' Wheat Lippelmann led all 20 laps of the IMCA Stock Car feature. Three caution flags kept the field close as several drivers challenged Lippelmann. But at the checkers, Lippelmann was first, trailed by Tyrel Smith, Jason Davis, 'Spiderman' Nick Tubbs and Jason Rogers. Nick Tubbs, Dalton Bauer and Jeff Tubbs were victorious in the three heat races.

Ryan Heger of Hugoton took the lead on lap 4 from early leader Tim Watts in the 20-lap IMCA Modified feature. Heger was able to keep Watts at bay for a trip to victory lane, with Shannon Maughlin, Troy Plummer and Brian Calhoon completing the top five. Heger, John Fose, and Plummer won their respective heat races.

The regular four classes return to action on Sunday, May 5, and will be joined by the vintage cars. The green flag will fly at 6:30 p.m.


IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: Cody Ghumm, Cody Graham, Leon Pfannenstiel

Feature: 1. Daniel Irwin, 2. Ghumm, 3. Jeromy Wagner, 4. Kirk Karst, 5. Pfannenstiel, 6. Jacob Crowell, 7. Garrett Hager, 8. Eric Ross, 9. Kent Tammen, 10. Graham, 11. Colin Heim, 12. Ron Wehling, 13. Jason McIntyre, 14. Tommy Fose, 15. Robert Emmons, 16. Al Emmons, 17. Josh Hrabe, 18. Colton Pfeifer, 19. Sierra Swart, 20. Wayne Robben, 21. Brian Stich (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Chris Heim, Willie Wynn, Josh Appel, Clay Money.

Feature: 1. Money, 2. Heim, 3. Daniel Gottschalk, 4. Wynn, 5. Brenden Damon, 6. J. Appel, 7. Trenton Kleweno, 8. Kurtis Pihl, 9. Cory Struckhoff, 10. Ryan Wark, 11. Tyler Watts, 12. Tyler Frye, 13. C.J. Pfannenstiel, 14. Jeremy Couse, 15. Raymond Blackburn, 16. Warren Harkess, 17. Bob Krutz, 18. Bentley Pywell (DNF), 19. Mike Appel (DNF), 20. Blaine Walt (DNF), 21. Cody Pancake (DNF), 22. Austin Walker (DNF), 23. Philip Goering (DNF), 24. Jeremy Sigler (DNF).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Nick Tubbs, Dalton Bauer, Jeff Tubbs.

Feature: 1. Wheat Lippelmann, 2. Tyrel Smith, 3. Jason Davis, 4. N. Tubbs, 5. Jason Rogers, 6. Bruce Plumisto, 7. J. Tubbs, 8. Eric Kinderknecht, 9. Cody Williams, 10. Tyler Tipton, 11. Michael Meyer, 12. Mark Zorn, 13. Pat Bedore, 14. Justin Lewis, 15. Austin Janousek, 16. Bauer (DNF), 17. Terry Cunningham (DNF), 18. B.J. Wagoner (DNF), 19. Mike Kennedy (DNF), 20. Josh Crombie (DNF), 21. Cody Zimmerman (DNF), 22. Keith Riley (DNF).

IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Ryan Heger, John Fose, Troy Plummer

Feature: 1. Heger, 2. Tim Watts, 3. Shannon Maughlin, 4. Plummer, 5. Brian Calhoon, 6. Kyle Rohleder, 7. Mike Petersilie, 8. Jesse Richter, 9. Marty Clark, 10. Wheat Lippelmann, 11. Chadd Brown, 12. Craig Colgin, 13. Jerry Teel, 14. Nate Moore 15. Randy Wilson (DNF), 16. Bill Albin (DNF), 17. Ronnie Hill (DNF), 18. Fose (DNF), 19. Dylan Sherfick (DNF), 20. Taos Leighton (DNF), 21. Travis Sherfick (DNF), 22. John Fabrizius (DNF), 23. Matt Henke (DNF).