Tubbs, Gottschalk repeat at WaKeeney Speedway


Special to The Hays Daily News

WAKEENEY, KS (May 4)--Colby's Jeff Tubbs and Daniel Gottschalk made repeat appearances in the Jason Oil Winner's Circle at Wakeeney (KS) Speedway Sunday evening, May 4.

Tubbs won his third IMCA Stock Car feature in a row at the 3/8-mile oval but it was anything but easy. After a multi-car crash on the opening lap, Jason Davis took the top spot on the opening lap before Tubbs took over the top spot. Tubbs continued to lead at the halfway mark of the 20-lap event with Davis and Shannon Maughlin close behind. The trio put on a show the final half of the race, running nose to tail and side by side. Davis got his front fender alongside Tubbs' door several times but just could not make the pass and had to settle for second with Maughlin right behind. 'The Taz Man' Tyler Hahn and 'The Spiderman' Nick Tubbs finished fourth and fifth. Heat race winners were Michael Meyer and 'The Kinkanator' Eric Kinderknecht.

Gottschalk only led one lap to win his second straight IMCA Sport Mod feature but it was the one that counted. Brian Conness took the early lead, followed by C.J. Pfannenstiel and Dakota Sproul. The caution plagued race kept the field close, but each time Conness was up to the challenge. Gottschalk worked his way to second on the last caution on lap 13, then on the last lap, Gottschalk got under Conness in turn 3 and held on to the Crawford Supply flagstand for the win. Trenton Kleweno was third, followed by heat two winner Blaine Walt and Josh Appel. Conness and Gottschalk also won heat races.

'Bam Bam' Cody Graham of Hays became the fourth different IMCA Hobby Stock driver to win at Wakeeney this season. Monte Honas led the first 6 laps before Graham took the lead at the halfway mark. 'The Wild Child' Garrett Hager chased the first heat winner and made a late charge but had to settle for second. Third heat winner Honas, Colin Heim and Trevor 'The Hit Man' Schmidt rounded out the top five. Travis Coop finished fifth but was docked 2 spots for jumping on a restart. Daniel Irwin also won a heat race.

Chris Heim of Hoxie led all 20 caution free laps in the IMCA Modified feature. Heim jumped from his outside pole starting spot and never looked back enroute to victory lane. Kyle Rohleder finished second, trailed by second heat winner Travis 'The Terminator' Sherfick, Clay Sellard and 'Dynamite' Dylan Sherfick. Heim was victorious in the other heat race.

After winning the IMCA Sport Compact heat race, Kirk Pfannenstiel led all 10 laps to win the evening's main event. Kiowa Higdon, Art Herzog, Michael Smith and Dean Herzog completed the top five.

The evening's race sponsor was Keyser True Value of Wakeeney.

Next up for Wakeeney Speedway will be the annual 2-day Memorial Challenge on Sunday & Monday, May 25-26. All 5 divisions will be in action both nights starting at 6:30 with the 305 Sprint Cars joining the field on Sunday evening.


IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: Cody Graham, Daniel Irwin, Monte Honas.

Feature: 1. Graham, 2. Garrett Hager, 3. Honas, 4. Colin Heim, 5. Trevor Schmidt, 6. Irwin, 7. Travis Coop, 8. Tanner Moss, 9. Will Bauer, 10. Kyle Pfeifer, 11. Irvin Earl, 12. Robert Emmons, 13. Jeromy Wagner (DNF), 14. Mike Giesenhagen, 15. Justin Meserve (DNF), 16. Josh Hrabe (DNF), 17. Brett Henke (DNF), 18. Aaron Gray (DNF), 19. Colton Pfeifer (DNF), 20. Brady Bencken (DNF), 21. Al Emmons (DNF), 22. Oscar Runyon (DNS).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Brian Conness, Blaine Walt, Daniel Gottschalk.

Feature: 1. Gottschalk, 2. Conness, 3. Trenton Kleweno, 4. Walt, 5. Josh Appel, 6. Clay Money, 7. Dakota Sproul, 8. Jeremy Sigler, 9. Austin Walker, 10. Mike Appel, 11. Cory Struckhoff, 12. Willie Wynn, 13. Tristen Barton, 14. Dan Lauer, 15. C.J. Pfannenstiel, 16. Kenny Schmidt, 17. Andy Barton, 18. Don Strecker, 19. Jeremy Couse (DNF), 20. Kurtis Pihl (DNF), 21. Philip Goering (DNS).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Michael Meyer, Eric Kinderknecht.

Feature: 1. Jeff Tubbs, 2. Jason Davis, 3. Shannon Maughlin, 4. Tyler Hahn, 5. Nick Tubbs, 6. Brent Moss, 7. Chad Sterling, 8. Kinderknecht, 9. Cody Zimmerman, 10. Cody Williams, 11. Meyer, 12. Jason McIntyre, 13. Justin Lewis, 14. Josh Crombie (DNF), 15. B.J. Wagoner (DNF), 16. Michael Pepper (DNS).

IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Chris Heim, Travis Sherfick.

Feature: 1. Heim, 2. Kyle Rohleder, 3. T. Sherfick, 4. Clay Sellard, 5. Dylan Sherfick, 6. Brian Calhoon, 7. Nate Moore, 8. Scott Brown, 9. Matt Henke, 10. Chadd Brown (DNS).

IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat race winner: Kirk Pfannenstiel.

Feature: 1. Pfannenstiel, 2. Kiowa Higdon, 3. Art Herzog, 4. Michael Smith, 5. Dean Herzog, 6. Madison Reed, 7. T.J. Janousek, 8. Jon Bradshaw.