Tubbs, Walt repeat at WaKeeney Speedway


Special to The Hays Daily News

WAKEENEY, KS (June 30)--Jeff Tubbs of Colby and Collyer's Blaine Walt made repeat appearances in the Jason Oil Winner's Circle at the Wakeeney (KS) Speedway Sunday evening, June 30.

Tubbs won his fourth IMCA Stock Car feature of the season at Wakeeney. He took the lead from 'Sweet' Wheat Lippelman on lap 5 of the 15-lap caution free event and drove away for the win. The race was for second with 'The Spiderman' Nick Tubbs, Lippelmann, and B.J. Wagoner running nose to tail and side by side the last half of the race. Nick Tubbs was able to take the runner-up spot, trailed closely by Lippelmann, Wagoner, and Eric Kinderknecht. Nick Tubbs and Lippelmann won the two heat races.

Walt won his second IMCA Northern Sport Mod feature in a row at the 3/8-mile oval. The caution plagued main event saw Tyler Watts lead the first two laps, then Austin Walker took the lead when Watts drove off turn 4 to bring out a caution. Walt got past Walker as the field came to the halfway mark and was able to hold off heat 3 winner Daniel Gottschalk after a late race caution. Heat one winner Walker finished third, followed by heat two victor 'The Money Man' Clay Money, and Clay Sellard.

The IMCA Modified feature went 20 green flag laps without a caution and saw its seventh different winner in 7 races for the division. Scott Brown led the first two laps before Dighton's Shannon Maughlin took the lead. 'Dynamite' Dylan Sherfick used the low groove to catch Maughlin and assume command on lap 7. But on lap 15, Maughlin used the cushion at the top of the track to his advantage and regained the lead to hold off Sherfick for a trip to victory lane. Matt Fabrizius finished third, followed by Kyle Rohleder and Nate Moore. Travis 'The Terminator' Sherfick, Rohleder, and Matt Fabrizius were all victorious in their heat race.

The IMCA Hobby Stock feature got off to a rough start as Colton Pfeifer rolled off the backstretch on the opening lap. He was okay but done for the night. Hoxie's Colin Heim took the lead at the drop of the green and never looked back enroute to his first Wakeeney feature win. 'The I Man' Daniel Irwin chased down Heim but had to settle for second, followed by 'Bam Bam' Cody Graham, 'Neon' Leon Pfannenstiel and Kirk Karst. Heim and Irwin won the two heat races.

Racing returns to the 3/8-mile oval for races during the Trego County Fair on Wednesday, July 31. The IMCA-sanctioned Modifieds, Stock Cars and Northern Sport Mods will compete for added prize money. Race time will be 7:00 p.m.


IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: Colin Heim, Daniel Irwin.

Feature: 1. Heim, 2. Irwin, 3. Cody Graham, 4. Leon Pfannenstiel, 5. Kirk Karst, 6. Garrett Hager, 7. Al Emmons, 8. Roger Garrison, 9. Adrienne West, 10. Tayber Haremza, 11. Brian Stich (DNF), 12. Cody Ghumm (DNF), 13. Trevor Schmidt (DNF), 14. Donnie Werth (DNF), 15. Nathan Munhall (DNF), 16. Josh Hrabe (DNF), 17. Colton Pfeifer (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Austin Walker, Clay Money, Daniel Gottschalk.

Feature: 1. Blaine Walt, 2. Gottschalk, 3. Walker, 4. Money, 5. Clay Sellard, 6. Chris Heim, 7. Brian Conness, 8. Trenton Kleweno, 9. Jasen Gray, 10. Kaid Calhoon, 11. Josh Appel, 12. Mike Appel, 13. Colby Hagans, 14. C.J. Pfannenstiel, 15. Kenny Schmidt, 16. Dan Lauer, 17. Bentley Pywell, 18. Don Strecker, 19. Lucas Miller (DNF), 20. Ryan Stevenson, 21. Kamren Gruber (DNF), 22. Tyler Watts (DNF).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Nick Tubbs, Wheat Lippelmann.

Feature: 1. Jeff Tubbs, 2. N. Tubbs, 3. Lippelmann, 4. B.J. Wagoner, 5. Eric Kinderknecht, 6. Arnold Williams, 7. Jason Davis, 8. John Annon.

IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Travis Sherfick, Kyle Rohleder, Matt Fabrizius.

Feature: 1. Shannon Maughlin, 2. Dylan Sherfick, 3. M. Fabrizius, 4. Rohleder, 5. Nate Moore, 6. Scott Brown, 7. T. Sherfick, 8. Craig Colgin, 9. Jerry Teel, 10. Troy Plummer, 11. John Fose, 12. Grant Junghans, 13. Tim Watts, 14. Wheat Lippelmann, 15. Brian Calhoon, 16. Ryan Heger, 17. Todd Schwarz, 18. Danny Keller, 19. Chadd Brown, 20. Milo Lippelmann, 21. John Fabrizius (DNS).