WaKeeney Speedway returns to action


Special to The Hays Daily News

WAKEENEY, KS (Augut 11)--Racing action returned to Wakeeney (KS) Speedway Sunday evening, August 11, with all 5 classes in competition.

Travis 'The Terminator' Sherfick had the hometown fans on their feet in an exciting finish in the 20-lap IMCA Modified feature. John Fose led the first 3 laps before Kyle Rohleder took the lead. Rohleder led late with Sherfick closing ground quickly. Then with a couple of laps to go, the leading duo caught up to lapped traffic and Sherfick made a move for the lead. Rohleder charged back on the outside in turn 3 coming to the white flag but went off the track, ending his chance at a win. Sherfick scored his second win of the season at Wakeeney. Troy Plummer held off 'Dynamite' Dylan Sherfick for the runner-up spot, with Fose and Nate Moore rounding out the top five. Rohleder and Plummer won the two heat races.

Selden's Jason Rogers passed early leader Eric Kinderknecht on lap 4 of the 20-lap IMCA Stock Car feature. The lone caution waved on lap 8 when Shannon Maughlin spun, but Rogers pulled away on the restart to claim his second Wakeeney win this season. B.J. Wagoner finished second, followed by Jeff Tubbs, Jason Davis and Kinderknecht. Heat race winners were 'Sweet' Wheat Lippelmann and Rogers.

The IMCA Northern Sport Mod feature had more than its share of cautions, but Blaine Walt of Collyer was up to the challenge to claim his third win of the year at the 3/8-mile oval. Walt passed leader Austin Walker after a lap 7 restart and was able to hold off Clay Sellard for a trip to the Jason Oil Winner's Circle. Walker held on to third, followed by Kurtis Pihl and 'The Money Man' Clay Money. Victorious in their heat races were Daniel Gottschalk and Josh Appel.

The IMCA Hobby Stock feature got off to a rough start as a multi car crash on the frontstraight on the opening lap claimed the cars of Colin Heim and Cody Ghumm. Cody 'Bam Bam' Graham of Hays drove on top of Colton Pfeifer, but both were able to return with Pfeifer retiring late in the race. Roger Garrison led the opening lap when the green flag returned, only to be passed by Graham on lap 2. Graham would lead the remaining distance in the 15-lap event to get his 4th win of the season. Brian Stich, 'Neon' Leon Pfannenstiel, heat one winner Garrett 'The Wild Child' Hager and Garrison rounded out the top five. Heim won the other heat race.

The IMCA Sport Compacts returned for their third Wakeeney Speedway appearance. Dean Herzog of Hays led the first four laps before Monte Honas of Ellis took over the top spot. But Honas' run ended on lap 8 when he coasted off turn 1 and came to a stop. Dean Herzog inherited the lead and held off father Art Herzog to claim his first win at Wakeeney. Kirk Pfannenstiel, Brandon Lobell and Michael Smith completed the top five. Heat race victors were Dean Herzog and Andrew Soderlund.

All five classes will return to the 3/8-mile oval on Sunday, August 25, with a 6:30 p.m. start time.


IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: Garrett Hager, Colin Heim.

Feature: 1. Cody Graham, 2. Brian Stich, 3. Leon Pfannenstiel, 4. Hager, 5. Roger Garrison, 6. Daniel Irwin, 7. Darren Unrein, 8. Donnie Werth, 9. Robert Emmons, 10. Al Emmons, 11. Colton Pfeifer (DNF), 12. Justin Meserve (DNF), 13. Heim (DNF), 14. Cody Ghumm (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Daniel Gottschalk, Josh Appel.

Feature: 1. Blaine Walt, 2. Clay Sellard, 3. Austin Walker, 4. Kurtis Pihl, 5. Clay Money, 6. Chris Heim, 7. Cory Struckhoff, 8. Gottschalk, 9. C.J. Pfannenstiel, 10. Mike Appel, 11. Dan Lauer, 12. Kenny Schmidt, 13. Brian Conness (DNF), 14. J. Appel (DNF), 15. Don Strecker (DNF), 16. Jeremy Sigler (DNF), 17. Bentley Pywell (DNF).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Wheat Lippelmann, Jason Rogers.

Feature: 1. Rogers, 2. B.J. Wagoner, 3. Jeff Tubbs, 4. Jason Davis, 5. Eric Kinderknecht, 6. Shannon Maughlin, 7. Angel Munoz, 8. Lippelmann, 9. Justin Lewis, 10. Tyler Tipton (DNF), 11. Sonny O'Haire (DNF), 12. Cody Williams (DNS).

IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Kyle Rohleder, Troy Plummer.

Feature: 1. Travis Sherfick, 2. Plummer, 3. Dylan Sherfick, 4. John Fose, 5. Nate Moore, 6. Marty Clark, 7. Jerry Teel, 8. Wheat Lippelmann, 9. Rodger Peck, 10. Brian Calhoon, 11. Milo Lippelmann, 12. Scott Brown, 13. Tyler Wilson, 14. Chadd Brown, 15. Rohleder, 16. Matt Henke (DNF).

IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat race winners: Dean Herzog, Andrew Soderlund.

Feature: 1. D. Herzog, 2. Art Herzog, 3. Kirk Pfannestiel, 4. Brandon Lobdell, 5. Michael Smith, 6. Soderlund, 7. Tanner Chapin, 8. Ed Jasper, 9. Monte Honas (DNF), 10. Jesse Prockish (DNS).