Three new faces in victory lane at WaKeeney Speedway


Special to The Hays Daily News

WAKEENEY, KS (Augut 24)--Three new faces appeared in the Jason Oil Winner's Circle at Wakeeney (KS) Speedway Sunday evening, August 24.

Kyle Rohleder has been close a couple of times this season to picking up a victory at his hometown track in the IMCA Modified division. Sunday night he got it as he passed heat two winner Tim Watts on lap 13 of the 20-lap caution free race and held on to the checkers to secure the win. Watts finished second, followed by heat three winner Todd Schwarz, Nate Moore and Marty Clark. Heat one winner Travis 'The Terminator' Sherfick was sixth.

Great Bend's Brenden Damon also got his first win of the season at the 3/8-mile oval in the IMCA Northern Sport Mod main event. Damon took advantage of his outside pole starting spot and led all 15 laps enroute to the victory. Heat one winner Clay Sellard made a late charge but could not make a pass and had to settle for second. Blaine Walt was third, followed by heat two victor Daniel Gottschalk, and 'The Money Man' Clay Money. Austin Walker also won a heat race.

Michael Smith of Stockton got by heat one winner Andrew Soderlund on lap 8 in the 12-lap IMCA Sport Compact feature to score his first Wakeeney win. Soderlund held on to the runner-up spot, trailed by point leader Kirk Pfannenstiel, Monte Honas, and heat two winner Dean Herzog.

Colby's Jeff Tubbs continued his domination in the IMCA Stock Car class as he drove on to his 6th feature win at Wakeeney Speedway this season. Heat one winner Shannon Maughlin led the first 6 laps before Tubbs took control on lap 7 and went the distance in the 20-lap caution free race. Maughlin settled for second, with heat two winner Josh 'The Hammer' Hudson, Jason Davis, and 'Sweet' Wheat Lippelmann rounding out the top five.

'Bam Bam' Cody Graham of Hays made his 5th appearance in victory lane in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Brian Stich led the fist 6 laps before Graham took the lead at the halfway mark of the 15-lap event. Heat one winner Garrett 'The Wild Child' Hager chased Graham but had to settle for second, with Colin Heim, Daniel Irwin and Jeromy Wagner completing the top five. Graham was victorious in the other heat race.

The evening's race sponsor was Carrico Implement.

All five classes will return to the 3/8-mile oval on Sunday, September 15, for championship night, the final night of the 2013 racing season at Wakeeney. Grandstand admission will be just $5.00 for everyone, and there will be a bicycle giveaway. The green flag waves at 6:30 p.m.


IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: Garrett Hager, Cody Graham.

Feature: 1. Graham, 2. Hager, 3. Colin Heim, 4. Daniel Irwin, 5. Jeromy Wagner, 6. Leon Pfannenstiel, 7. Roger Garrison, 8. Al Emmons, 9. Brian Stich, 10. Adrienne West, 11. Trevor Schmidt (DNF), 12. Robert Emmons (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Clay Sellard, Daniel Gottschalk, Austin Walker.

Feature: 1. Brenden Damon, 2. Sellard, 3. Blaine Walt, 4. Gottschalk, 5. Clay Money, 6. Tyler Watts, 7. Walker, 8. Cory Struckhoff, 9. Chris Heim, 10. Dan Lauer, 11. Ryan Wark, 12. Terry Dressel, 13. Andy Barton, 14. C.J. Pfannenstiel (DNF), 15. Brian Conness (DNS), 16. Bentley Pywell (DNS).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Shannon Maughlin, Josh Hudson.

Feature: 1. Jeff Tubbs, 2. Maughlin, 3. Hudson, 4. Jason Davis, 5. Wheat Lippelmann, 6. B.J. Wagoner, 7. Eric Kinderknecht, 8. Justin Lewis, 9. Bruce Plumisto, 10. Ondale Rexford, 11. Rich Beesley.

IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Travis Sherfick, Tim Watts, Todd Schwarz.

Feature: 1. Kyle Rohleder, 2. Watts, 3. Schwarz, 4. Nate Moore, 5. Marty Clark, 6. T. Sherfick, 7. Mike Petersilie, 8. Darrick Klima, 9. Dylan Sherfick, 10. John Fose, 11. Jerry Teel, 12. Danny Keller, 13. Troy Plummer, 14. Matt Henke, 15. Brian Calhoon, 16. Scott Brown, 17. Wheat Lippelmann, 18. Michael Martin, 19. Milo Lippelmann, 20. Chadd Brown, 21. Jesse Richter (DNF).

IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat race winners: Andrew Soderlund, Dean Herzog.

Feature: 1. Michael Smith, 2. Soderlund, 3. Kirk Pfannenstiel, 4. Monte Honas, 5. D. Herzog, 6. Tristen Barton, 7. Art Herzog, 8. Bret Henke, 9. Tanner Chapin, 10. Ed Jasper.